The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-12-2013, 12:06 PM   #1
ls70918

improvements to a 402

OK, As I posted on an earlier thread, I'm no mechanic. I know a little, but there is a lot more I don't know.

So I have a 70 GMC Sierra Grande with a 402. At this point everything is stock. I want to change the intake manifold and carborator (and possibly put headers on it) to improve preformance.

I have to watch my budget so I'm not looking a super high-end stuff. I was thinking about an Edelbrok proformer intake. I'm not sure about the carborator yet. A friend has told me to stay away from Holly. And it looks like there are a ton of headers out there, makes, diamater, etc.

I'll take any and all suggestions. Try to keep it simple. . . I can lift heavy things, but I might have a hard time following some of you guys.
ls70918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:18 PM   #2
67ctener

Re: improvements to a 402

I also know squat about motors... I do know Sanderson makes 67-72 big block headers that I've read are nice and fit well. I will also be running a 402
Posted via Mobile Device
90 k2500
91 s10
#chevyonly
67ctener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:36 PM   #3
Littletony

You need to let everyone know what you are going to use the truck for. Are you going to race it, tow with it or trying to just bet better gas mileage. That way they can give you a better ballpark on what you should use.

"The Marines I have seen around the world have the cleanest bodies, the filthiest minds, the highest morale, and the lowest morals of any group of animals I have ever seen. Thank God for the United States Marine Corps!" ..............Eleanor Roosevelt, 1945