The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-22-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
mvesr

Power steering

I have a 1968 chevy stepside 3 on the tree with manual steering. I wanted to know what year power pump to get to put on this truck. I have a "605" box left over from a 1957 Bel Air project. Will it work?

Thanks in advance for the help

Mika
mvesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:08 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: Power steering

Welcome!! Sorry the box from a car mounts inside the frame and PU ones outside.You need a PS from a 68-86 PU sub or 2wd blazer fr a 2 wd.The pump brackets need to match the engine and water pump length,Don't forget to get the pulleys with the brackets.It's a pretty simple bolt on swap.You may need a kit to rebuild the rag joint to make the top/bottom match the shafts.

BTW I'm just down the road in Greensboro.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:14 PM   #3
1955 mancave

mike even if it would have worked those 605's are not good they seem to wander all over the road, i have one on my 57 210 and soon i will replace it with a 500 box.
1955 mancave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 11:25 PM   #4
mvesr

Thanks guys for the info. Glad I didn't put the 605 box on the 57. It is still a project.

I am just getting started on the 68, just passed through Greensboro last week on my way to Duke. Would like to attend some car shows in that area this coming year, and would like to see your truck.

Mika