The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-11-2014, 05:26 PM   #1
zumbahlenm

New Beginner Guide

Hey all, I am a new member and chose this thread for help to get started.

I am new to rebuilding vehicles and would love to have a project. I am interested in buying a 1950 Chevy 3600 to restore. I am not sure how much its worth and what it will take to restore.

Is there any guides or info to check what is good on the vehicle?
What about the engine. Is there any info to see if it will start or rebuild it.
Also I have been reading some threads about changing to a differ motor. What does it take to do that?
Checking chasis?
What about suspension changing to something new.

Any help would be awesome for me as a beginner
zumbahlenm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 07:04 PM   #2
OrrieG

Re: New Beginner Guide

Welcome to the forum. Most of your questions can be answered by doing a search and looking at other similar build threads, as you said you are doing.

What is your vision for the build? Stock; resto-mod with updated engine, transmission, rearend; plus new suspension to drop it, etc.? Friday night cruiser, or long road trip flyer?

What kind of shape is the truck in now? Was it running, no engine, together, basket case???

Did it come with a clear title that matchs the truck engine number or assigned VIN?

Just for reference stovebolts.com is more stock truck orientated and inliners.org will show you how to hot rod your six.

Post some pics so we can get an idea what you are dealing with....
OrrieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 08:40 PM   #3
tinyjaime