The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-21-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
77ChevySharkBite

Chevy 350 OE Roller or Hydraulic Roller

What's up everyone, so I'm new to the Chevy world, I just purchased a 1977 Chevy 350 small block motor, how would I know is the motor is a OE Roller or Hydraulic Roller? I'm trying to find out if I'll have to have a custom cam made or if I'll be able to just buy it from a typical online store such as jegs.com or summitracing.com, so if anyone has insight on this please help me.

Thanks

77 C10 Silverado Sharkbite LWB Build
67 Chevy C10 Frame Off
06 Dodge Magnum 2.7v6 aka swag wag!
2010 Honda Accord 2.4I4 DD aka Liquid Metal
77ChevySharkBite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 05:27 PM   #2
mopar346

Re: Chevy 350 OE Roller or Hydraulic Roller

Welcome to the forum.

An OE roller is a hydraulic roller. Depending on the year of your engine/block it will determine what still cam you need as far as aftermarket roller or OE roller, both styles can be purchased in hydraulic or solid roller. Old style blocks are modified (in most cases to accept a roller but will still take the old style cam should you desire. The newer blocks are machined different for a factory roller/spider set up but I believe can still take an old non-roller style cam as well - not sure why anyone would do this though. I'm not sure if the OE and retro fitted roller cam/lifter set up are interchangeable or not Jeg/Summit should be able to answer that. So back to my original statement, what year block you have will determine what style cam you get.
mopar346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 05:31 PM   #3
77ChevySharkBite