The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-10-2010, 03:35 PM   #1
rocketwheels

Power Brake question '68 K-10.....

...for my 2nd question.....this truck was manual 4 wheel drum, but now has a power booster and what looks like the original master cylinder and proportioning valve pushing the 4 wheel drum set up. Like the steering, this is also super sensitive. The pedal travels quite far before there seems to be "assisted" application of the brakes....just a touch more pressure and the rear brakes lock up.

I'm an old pro at replacing, adjusting and maintaining 4 wheel drum brakes, I'm just not confident about this "conversion". I'm really interested in fully converting to disc brakes on the front, and I am willing to purchase one of those fully matched Booster/cylinder/prop valve combos.....just need to know from what donor vehicles I could scrounge the spindles . I assume they would be different than the one currently on the truck.

I guess if anyone may have an interchange guide or a link to one online, I could find a bit more about correct combos.

Thanks in advance for info . Steve
rocketwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 12:35 AM   #2
66_k10_manny

Re: Power Brake question '68 K-10.....

I'm experiencing some of the same problems. . .I have the same set up as your truck except I swapped the front axle from a 78 p/u with disc brakes. I have a brand new proportioning valve and my rear wheels seem like they lock up too easy. My pedal travels almost to the floor board. The brakes begin to grab at about a third of the way down and grab at full force at 2 thirds. Heres the thread I had for my project, its got lots of useful info you might be able to use. . . http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=400141