The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-17-2009, 10:49 AM   #1
Eturnit3
Bloodied Knuckles

Trail Closures and Land Usage..

Yeah I guess Im gonna be "That guy"... the one who preaches about how we need to take our trail maintenance into our own hands.. The guy who gets red in the face to hear about sh!t like this.. http://sacramento.craigslist.org/pts/1272233102.html

Well, being as I am just learning how many of my local trails/ohv areas are under the watchfull eye of the DOT and OAC, and other greeny organizations I have yet to learn about. I feel it is my duty to at least try and educate my fellow wheelers as to how bad things have become. Last year, one of my favorite local wheeling spot was shut down due to pollution and environmental impact. I heard a rumor that "Greenhorn Creek" was going to be shut down and there was a clean up day that might effect the decision. I showed up on the "clean up day" spent the day picking up shotgun shells, beer cans, car parts, and trash. The difference was definitely noticeable, but apparently the effort wasnt enough. Now let me say, I am no tree hugger, and I probably the farthest thing from a greeny that there is. My dd gets 10 miles per gallon and if my wheel should brush a tree, knocking the bark off, I don't feel bad. I am an advocate of our sport and I am willing to do what it takes to ensure that future generations get to enjoy the sport (or hobby). The thing that pisses me off the most about the whole situation, is that these closures/ land grabs happen without the notice from most of the public. To say it differently: This crap is happening behind our backs!!