The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-21-2011, 10:20 PM   #1
impalaboy9

I'm an Idiot not an Electrician

Sorry guys this is gonna be a tough question and I wish I new more about the problem than I do. So when I got my 65 the p/o put in a tilt column and did a nice job problem is the wiring was one holy mess. I did a decent job getting the ignition spliced back in and some misc. stuff working but I am stuck now. First problem is I don't know what the tilt is out of. Secondly the wiring diagram I have been working off of that has been great the colors aren't matching up anymore and I can hardly do straightforward wiring let alone "custom" So here is the deal the connector for the tilt is long and flat and has wires from left to right, as I look at it, black, pink w/white, brown, black w/blue stripe, drk blue, tan, lt blue, black w/yellow stripe, green, black w/white stripe. Then there is a separate small conector with black blue and gray wires bunched real tight together in one strand.

Now the stock wiring that I believe hooks up the tail lights blinkers and such is the "1/2 moon" connector or semi round if you will. The top row has from left to right, as I look at it, green, lt blue, drk blue, black and the bottom left to right is yellow, white and purple.

If anyone can tell me what the heck these wires do or how to make the two systems go together I would be forever indebted. I would like to make the blinkers and brakes work, flashers if possible.