The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-24-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
jocko

hmmm. How difficult are hinge pillars to weld in...?

Found a nice old truck, but lower hinge area has a fair amount of rust according to owner (still waiting on his pics). Assuming the worst and replacement needed, how much of a major pain in the buttocks is this? I have some welding experience, but not a lot.

Thanks guys - just trying to be realistic about what I am in for when I see the close-ups so I can decide if I want to buy this thing. Otherwise, it's just what I'm looking for. From the few average pics I've seen from the sides, the areas do not look too bad on the outside - i.e. no gaping holes where you could see the driver or passenger's feet....
jocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 07:43 PM   #2
Rude Dude

Re: hmmm. How difficult are hinge pillars to weld in...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocko View Post
Found a nice old truck, but lower hinge area has a fair amount of rust according to owner (still waiting on his pics). Assuming the worst and replacement needed, how much of a major pain in the buttocks is this? I have some welding experience, but not a lot.

Thanks guys - just trying to be realistic about what I am in for when I see the close-ups so I can decide if I want to buy this thing. Otherwise, it's just what I'm looking for. From the few average pics I've seen from the sides, the areas do not look too bad on the outside - i.e. no gaping holes where you could see the driver or passenger's feet....
What year truck? Really just time consuming cutting old crap out not hard at all I have done both AD and TF Trucks. Getting ready to work on Neighbors new projet look at my build the cabs are there.