The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Racing and high performance (trucks haulin more than hay)

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-15-2015, 09:06 PM   #1
Hunter92

Post Advice on Procharging?

Hey performance guys, I have a 92' Chevy K1500 ECLB with a Recently rebuild TBI 350 in it and I am just putting in a upgraded rebuilt 700r4 in it.
I would like to put a Procharger on it. Now I'm not sure which parts of the engine I should absolutely upgrade before putting a Procharger on it since I have zero experience with boosted engines. Should I replace the crank and cam and pistons for sure or just the pistons and cam, I've read up on other people asking about super and turbo's and they seem to have been told that stock pistons are a bad idea under boost. Any help would be appreciated
Dynomax Exhaust Y-pipe Back no Cat dual rear side exit
Dakota Digital Blue digital dash with tach
Crystal composite Headlight assembly
Hunter92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 09:19 PM   #2
Hollow65

Re: Advice on Procharging?

Is that an lt-1?
Old 06-16-2015, 01:09 AM   #3
BR3W CITY
meowMEOWmeowMEOW

Depends how big of a procharger, how much boost you wanna run, how much power you wanna make.

You can put one of the smaller blowers (like a p1 or smaller) @ ~4-5lbs of boost on a stock engine and have it live a decent life as long as its tuned very well. Unfortunately, if your keeping it TBI, then "tuned very well" isn't really an option on stock equipment. You'll have certain limits on fuel delivery, and no advanced way of controlling spark/timing. The smalled Procharger I see around is the P1, which is for making 5-900 hp. At the low end though, your not really making much use of its potential.