The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-24-2007, 10:25 AM   #1
68 P.O.S.

Recommended disc conversion kit

Can I get your stories of doing the front disc brake conversions and any problems you may have run into. Also, any recommendations of who I should buy my disc conversion kit from?
68 P.O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 12:24 PM   #2
PumiceMan

Re: Recommended disc conversion kit

I don't know what kind of time frame you're in, but I'm just getting started on my conversion. I decided to do a whole front end rebuild at the same time. I haven't had the the truck long, and it looked like all original ball joints and rod ends. Right now I'm still pulling off old stuff and cleaning up what I'm going to reuse (mostly just the control arms).

The disc brake kit I got was the 2 1/2 inch drop spindle kit from Classic Performance Products. I've read a few posts on this board that knocked them in the past, but I took a chance anyway, and their sprices were reasonable. All the parts look good so far, although I haven't gotten to assembly yet. They also threw in some extras and upgrades that I didn't pay for, so I can't complain there. Kit comes with spindles, rotors, calipers, pads, seals, bearings, hoses, dust shields, all new ball joints, rod ends, adj sleeves, and all hardware. I also ordered the new booster / master cylinder / prop valve, which came preassembled. The upper and lower cross shafts and new coils I got from Classic Industries (during a sale). So far everything looks great, I'm just struggling with old hardware!