The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-18-2013, 10:48 AM   #1
restorationboy14

How to drop bellhousing in '69 GMC 292 I6 pickup?

Ok heres the low down, I have a '69 GMC pickup its a 292 inline 6 with a 3 speed engine. It was converted to be on the floor by the previous owner. The tranny and clutch are bad on it so im changin them out right now. Yesterday I got all the bolts out around the bell housing. I counted 6. 2 on the very top , Two in the middle and two on the bottom. Now, I unbolted the mounts from underneath it. But its still not moving. So do I jack up the tranny to see if she'll budge? This is my first build am im 15 so i dont have a whole lot of expirence. But i know the basics lol Id be one lost puppy if this fourm wasnt around. Thanks a million guys!!
restorationboy14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:41 AM   #2
geezer#99

Re: How to drop bellhousing in '69 GMC 292 I6 pickup?

Put the 6 bolts back in and tighten them up. Then remove the shifter from the tranny and unbolt the tranny from the bellhousing (4 bolts). Remove the tranny. Be carefull the tranny is heavy (75 pounds). Remove the dust cover off the bottom of the bell and remove the bolts holding the clutch (pressure plate) onto the flywheel. With a bit of manouvering you can slide the clutch assembly out the bottom. Clean everything up, re-surface the flywheel, install a new pilot bearing, slide the new clutch assembly back in and install it. Line up the clutch disc with the dowel you get with your clutch kit.
Put tranny in first gear and slide it back onto the bell.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 02:12 PM   #3
SS Tim