The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-26-2012, 12:45 AM   #1
68 IRON

Straight 6 lifter removal

This is an old engine and everything is varnished....I'm pulling the lifters for replacement (2 or 3 are weak at best). Anyway, is there an easy way to loosen the varnish so I might be able to pull them out? Any help will be great.
I really didnt think they would be this bad!
68 IRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 09:17 AM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: Straight 6 lifter removal

I would try letting it idle with a quart of ATF for a few minutes.ATF is high detergent and should maybe help loosen some of it.Seafoam might be as good.The problem with either is that they may loosen junk to get in other areas of the engine causing problems.

i
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Wrenchbender Ret

You probably will need a lifter removeing tool. Spray carb cleaner on the lifter as you move it up & down in the travel. If its a varnish problem that will loosen it up. Often the bottom is mush- roomed & it takes some persuatiion with the lifter tool. There have been times when the only way to get them out is to tear down the engine & hit them from the bottm.
You realize putting new lifters on an old cam is a temp. fix. It will not last too long.
Wrenchbender Ret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:39 PM   #4
GRX

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrenchbender ret View Post