The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-22-2004, 08:53 PM   #1
72bigblock4wd

2" DJM lowering shackle for '67 C15 GMC???

Has anyone used a DJM or other brand 2" lowering shackle on their leaf spring rear C10? I want to lower mine 3"/2" for now and then possibly do a flip kit in the rear with spindles in the front eventually for a 5/5. My truck is a stepside with wood floor. Will I need to grind out any of the wood under the bed or should it clear without doing that? I've never used these before so any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!!
72bigblock4wd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 08:55 PM   #2
72MARIO

I have a 72 Short FLEET. I used a 2" drop shackle and it hit the wood floor. So I made it work and have the springs dearched 3".You are best to get the springs DeArched JUst go to any big truck spring shop it's cheep and easy.

Mario
1990 V2500 Suburban "Plow Truck"
2005 TAHOE DD
72MARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 08:05 AM   #3
ChevLoRay
Old Skool Club

I used Early Classic Enterprises stuff on my '69 (2.5 front drop/4.0 rear drop). I used DJM stuff on my son's '96 SWB Sportside. The drop in front was 2.0 with spindles. The rear was a 4.0 drop with shackles. The only problem in the rear is that a couple of braces on each side, behind the wheel, can be contacted when you hit a speed bump or other suspension-bottoming event. You can trim the end, or flatten it, to solve the problem if you don't want to hear it bang.