The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-15-2004, 12:23 AM   #1
Brimow525

4wd rear swap questions

OK, I am new to this stuff and want to make sure I do it right. Truck is a 70 K20 with D44 in front (drums) and a Eaton rear. 4:10 gears. I want the truck to be a safe daily driver and have had a VERY hard time matching parts for the brakes a such. So I bought a set of rears from a 86 K2500 with 103,000 miles on it. 4:10 gears, with the leaf spings. 10 bolt in front and 14 bolt (non full floater) in the rear. I have taken apart the front axle, just the calibers and dics. Going to get the disc turned, new calibers, bearings and seals. Now the questions are..
1. Should I mess with the front axle u joints near the calibers? They don't "look" bad, but they look kinda hard to get at and replace. Going to be plowing with this truck. Not off roading.
2. Will the springs bolt right up to my 70 frame? I wanted to keep the newer springs. More leafs.
3. Can I have the rear shock mount moved to the other side to the axle with ease?
4. What is a good reliable locking hub to get for this setup?
5. Will the steering bolt right up to the 70 system?
Thats all I can think of at the moment. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Attached Images

Old 07-16-2004, 10:58 PM   #2
Brimow525

no takers huh?
Old 07-17-2004, 12:21 AM   #3
stan79chevy

i have warn hubs and i like them

i think you could put the shock mount wherever you want and it shouldnt be a problem. all the other stuff im nor sure about but i think the 73-87 springs are longer. dont use spicer hubs the ones i had stuck all the time and you would have to rock the truck back and forth to get them unlocked

01 S-10 ZR2 extended cab
4.3/4L60E/233