The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-09-2004, 02:01 PM   #1
Budweis
Geared for Collision

master cylinder for 4 wheel disc

asked this somewhere else but never quite got an answer. i had 4 wheel drum and now having 4 wheel disc and was unsure on master cylinder to use. someone else was saying you need corvette master cylinder but i was planning on using existing one. do i need a different master cylinder? if so does anything have to be modified to bolt on a vette master cylinder? also i have a 77 vette master cylinder in the garage , will it work if i need to change over?
1977 Corvette Coupe
Budweis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 02:14 PM   #2
Deuce

You do need a different master cyl. If you can find a copy of the new "Classic truck Magizine" it explains the different components of the braking systems for drum/drum, disc/drum and disc/disc.

Sometimes it's easier to do things the hard way.

Fesler Built 1968 Chevy C10....Must resist the urge to mess with it!!
Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 02:58 PM   #3
Grim Reaper

Well since your starting froms scratch then yes get a master from a vehicle that had 4 wheel disc.
Good canidate would be some of the early 80's Formula Fire birds and Trans am's ran 4w disc as well as some early 80's Cadilacs. A Disc drum master can be made to work. I put Disc's on my 75 Jimmy and still runnign the stock master and have really good brakes now considering the 35's that it wears. Here is a write up I did on that and hopefully you can gets some answers your looking for.

http://coloradok5.com/atrondiskbrakes.shtml
Grim Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 03:00 PM   #4
Budweis
Geared for Collision