The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-20-2004, 03:38 PM   #1
Bill W

DIY airconditioning

I'm replacing the AC compressor in my 91 suburburan due to the fact it seized up. Anybody out there with experience?

I'm putting in a rebuilt compressor, new dryer and new orfice tube. Then refilling with 134.

Before I bolt on the new components do I need to flush some kind of solvent through the lines?

Bill/91 4x4 suburban, and 78 4x4 shortbed chevy.
Bill W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 04:16 PM   #2
Greenlee

I'm no expert, but I did mine myself too and its working pretty good. I didn't flush the system with solvent, but I blew air back and fourth through the system until nothing much was coming out. If you use 134 you will need a kit that comes with the new connectors and o-rings. I ended up using something called Freeze 12 which uses the old fittings. I also ended up using a new compresor because several people warned me against using a rebuilt unit.
Greenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 05:45 PM   #3
Slonaker
Insert Witty Text Here

I just replaced my compressor with a new unit about 3 weeks ago. It was only $215. The rebuilt was $100 less, but they have a reputation, as Greenlee said, of not lasting long.

I'm no expert either, but everyone I talked to said that I should flush mine to give the new compressor the best chance at a long life. A friend who is very experienced suggested that I pull the orifice tube before I start, and see if it was covered with debris. He said it acts like a filter, and is a good indicator of whether or not the old compressor left anything in the system.