The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-06-2004, 12:37 PM   #1
77leo79

Question porportoning valve ratio change

I have a 77 & 79 Heavy Half Factory stock, one thing I need to figure out is how to put more load to the rear brakes. when loaded on damp or wet roads the front locks up too quickly. All adjusters are in perfect working order,rear drums,pads, new master cylinder,pistons and calipers are excellent. I am a firm believer in using the valve, so is there an adjustment or fix-it or just replace it? I am an ex-18 wheeler so I have a lot of driving experience and am fair to good mechanic with the tools to play with this issue. Any advise on this subject will be appreciated.
77leo79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:54 PM   #2
LONGHAIR
just can't cover up my redneck

There are adjustable Proportioning Valves that are more designed for race cars but they should do what you looking for.

http://www.jegs.com/cgi-bin/ncommerc...38&prmenbr=361

http://www.jegs.com/cgi-bin/ncommerc...79&prmenbr=361

I'm sure there are others.
LONGHAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 02:05 AM   #3
72k5

I bought one of the lever style valves like in the second link above to solve a similar problem.

http://store.summitracing.com/defaul...ch%2Easp&N=100

When I installed the 14 bolt rear, I had to reduce the size of the wheel cylinders from something like 1 1/4 to 7/8 to balance the brakes. The problem is, I can't really get the benefit from the huge rear brakes when carrying or towing a heavy load.