The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-08-2004, 10:42 PM   #1
TugOwar

305 balancer?

Hi guys,

I need to know how to tell the correct harmonic balancer for a 305? Is it a measurement or a number of some sort?

All help appreciated.
TugOwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 09:24 AM   #2
TugOwar

*catchs post before it sinks into the abyss*

I realize it's a newb question. I'm a newb you see. Someone take pity on this newb?
Old 11-09-2004, 09:39 AM   #3
Fred T
Cantankerous Geezer

Don't know for sure. They are measured by diameter. One thing to check is the distance from the crank to the timing indicator. Add that to the crank radius (half the diameter) and double the result. The balancer diameter should be just a bit smaller.

You can use about any size you want, as long as it will fit and you have the right timing pointer. Bigger is usually better, 8" max. Look in Summit or Jegs for the different sizes available.

There is no such thing as too much cam...just not enough engine.
Fred T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 09:45 AM   #4
TugOwar

Thanks very much for the reply Fred.
So size makes no difference. What about the balance issue? How do I know if the balancer I have is balanced for a 305?
Old 11-09-2004, 12:41 PM   #5
JimKshortstep4x4

Smile

All balancers will work except the external balancers like for the sbc 400 engines. The catch is to have the right timing tab which can be separate or welded to the timing chain cover. I believe the 305's came with a 6" balancer.

Jim
JimKshortstep4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 03:41 PM   #6
TugOwar

Thank you Jim. That simplifies the issue somewhat.