The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-25-2004, 11:34 PM   #1
PMS

Stereo suggestions

My son wants an in dash CD player for his 72 GMC truck. It is not original by any means. I need suggestions on in dash CD unit and type of speakers to purchase and install. I know we will need to cut dash for a new style CD player. What is a good brand that is not too expensive? Does anyone make a good sounding replacement dash speaker that is 2 speakers? What about door speakers? Should I get 6" with a separate tweeter or what? What is a good brand of speaker? Also where is a good place to purchase these components? Sorry about all the questions but I am a stereo novice, last stereo I put in was an 8 track player....

Thanks, Parrish
PMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 11:36 PM   #2
Dean23
68cst_ss490

Th e best stereo is....listening to the rumble of the v8 engine through sme nice loud pipes
2005 Chevrolet Avalanche LT
cold air intake, performance exhaust, Comp cams cam, jba shorty ceramic headers.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3090973
Dean23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 11:44 PM   #3
longnlow72

i have an alpine head unit, infinity 3-way 6x9's in the doors(two tweeters on the speaker), two infinty 4" speakers under the dash, an alpine amp and 2 10" jl audio subs under the seat, most people put 6x9's in the doors or 6" speakers, i made a bracket from leftover mdf from my sub boxes for the 4's under the dash. I dont know much about whats really good and whats not. but buy from ebay, there are stereo companys on there with brand new stuff for really cheap, but ebay was the route i went and was happy, hope this answers some of your questions
-Ben