The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-26-2005, 07:19 PM   #1
Sooner1970_K10
1970 K10, 350, 4spd!

Surface rust - Best way to delay it?

I have a pickup that I bought last year with good intentions of tearing it apart and going through it from top to bottom. I have never done this before but was going to go slow and work my way through it. As it is I am not sure when I am going to get around to rebuilding it. My best guess is a couple of years. That being said, it runs well, drives well and I will be using it to haul a few things and for weekend trips to town.

(1) I am looking for opinions on small fixes I could do to the body to stop the surface rust and not look to tacky in the proccess?

(2) The only plans I have for the truck in the near future are small upgrades such as a 4"-6" superlift with 33"-35" bfg muds.

(3) Should I clean and repaint the white stuff - white? Mirrors, bumpers, rims! What can I do with the pea-green paint? How can I stop the surface rust and not have the truck two colors of paint?

(4) How much would it cost if I was able to get a soda/sand blaster, strip it down and paint it with some black grey paint (very cheap) that would block moisture and the sun but wouldnt cost me an arm and a leg? Note: I have never painted, I would be painting from following some self help book.

Below are a few pictures to give you an idea of how extensive the surface rust is.
Attached Images

Sooner1970_K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 07:22 PM   #2
CHEVYE
my gas saver

sand down bare, treat it, and recover is the only way really. converters and such are only gonna delay it for a short time. either way you look at it, you`ll have spots or different colors on it.