The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-13-2005, 04:52 PM   #1
JJ Deuce

Converting from leafs to coils

I want to change over the leaf spring rear suspension on my GMC to the trailing arm setup from the Chevy. I figure it'll reduce wheel hop, and I plan on running a torquey big block in it.

I'm still new to these trucks, but it looks to be a simple conversion. Anyone have any tips, or a source for an off-the-shelf kit?

Thanks in advance.
JJ Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2005, 05:40 PM   #2
SCOTI

You'll need all the coil spring suspension related parts & it's basic R&R from one to the other.
99CCSWB Driver
All Fleetsides
@rattlecankustoms in IG

Building a small, high rpm engine with the perfect bore, stroke and rod ratio is very impressive.
It's like a highly skilled Morrocan sword fighter with a Damascus Steel Scimitar.....

Cubic inches is like Indiana Jones with a cheap pistol.
SCOTI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2005, 11:01 PM   #3
smbrouss70

I am wanting to do this to my 4x4 blazer frame also. From what I know you will probably have to fab up some type of bracket to hold the top of the coil spring. If you look at the pic below you'll notice that a coil spring frame bends outward to hold the coil, whereas a leaf spring frame is just straight right there.
Attached Images

"If dogs don't go to heaven, when I die I want to go wherever they went." -- Will Rogers
R.I.P. Oscar

R.I.P. Ratchet

1967 Pontiac GTO - Dad was the Original Owner
1970 Chevy 2wd SWB "Oscar's Truck"
1970 Chevy 2wd Blazer "Ratchet's Blazer"
2013 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab Duramax/Allison Z71 LTZ "Brown Sugar"
2017 Chevy Suburban "BDB"
2020 Chevy Blazer Premier "Foxy"

Member of Louisiana Classic Truck Club (LCTC)

Shop Build