The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-09-2005, 01:09 PM   #1
My '77

Can I use my step bumper to tow?

I am new to trucking and have a question.

My step bumper is rated as 800# tongue and 8,000# towing capacity. I want to occasonally tow about 5.000# (3,500# for a car and and open trailer) around Indiana and there abouts, so hills are not a problem. All towing will be within a 250 mile radius.

These ratings suggest that I could use the bumper on the truck. I have noticed, however, that a lot of trucks have both a step bumper and a frame hitch (Reese, Draw-Tite, etc.). Is it safe to use the step bumper or is a another system necessary. If we need a separate system, why?

Last edited by My '77; 10-09-2005 at 01:14 PM.
My '77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 04:43 PM   #2
piecesparts
Parts and more parts

I wouldn't, but then I am not you. I would install a quality tube hitch to ensure that I would never see my trailer passing me at an inopportune time. The odds that you will overload your bumper's capapcity is really big and you need to just get the right stuff first and then do it right.....

That bumper is really just a light show piece and the capability to pull the family boat to the lake is it's real limit. Go large and enjoy piece of mind...
piecesparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:22 PM   #3
SSC's76
No No

You could do it, I wouldent suggest it. Like PParts mentioned a good receiver hitch will be the best choice. a Class III will work fine and only costs $130-150 for everything needed.