The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-03-2006, 11:56 AM   #1
Army_Dude

Cleaning out a gas tank...Need advice

I'm cleaning out a gas tank that has alot of crud in it. I've done quite a few on Harley's but as you know they are much smaller. My question is, will the same technique work? I always just pulled the tank and threw in some nuts/bolts/rocks/whatever and rattled them around to braek any crud loose and rinsed the bejesus out of it.
Army_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 12:48 AM   #2
72 CustomCamper
huh ???

Re: Cleaning out a gas tank...Need advice

A short length of chain works well...

Chuck

"I am a bomb technician. If you see me running try to keep up!"
72 CustomCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 11:24 AM   #3
N2TRUX
Happy to be here

Quote:
Cleaning out a gas tank...Need advice
Yeah, don't smoke!

Do a Google search. There used to be companies that would boil it out like a radiator. EPA has squished some of them, but I bet there are a few still out there. I would hate to have to pull it twice....

Articles-

"Jake" the 84 to 74 crewcab

"Elwood" the77_Remix

85 GMC Sierra "Scarlett"

"Refining Sierra"
N2TRUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 11:50 AM   #4
bojoe

I generally use a three pronged attack against the varnish, starting with cheap chemicals and working my way up until the job is done.

First you need to determine if it's just varnish and decomposed gasoline, and not varnish plus gravel, dirt, bird feathers, straw, nests, and rust, etc, like one finds on in an old tractor tank behind a barn with no cap.