The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-07-2006, 09:09 PM   #1
brfive49

auto to manual trans. swap

hi, i am new to this, so forgive me if i am totally doing it backwards.can anybody tell me the easiest way to replace my 700r4 in my '85 k10 long wheel base with a manual trans? any kind of manual trans. will do. is there one that will work with my t-case and driveshafts? if not please tell me a way to change it over, if i have to change everything from diff. to diff. i will.
brfive49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 10:32 PM   #2
DirtyLarry
Windy Corner of a Dirty Street

Re: auto to manual trans. swap

It is actually not too hard of a swap. A buddy and I made this swap in K10 under my car port back in the late 90’s when I lived in Detroit. Middle of winter too. My truck originally had a TH350 and NP203 full time transfercase that I swapped for a NP205 to run behind the TH350 for a few years. Then another buddy that still lived back home in CO ran across a rust free 1976 short bed 4x4 with a SM465/NP205 for dirt cheap. He snapped it up and drug it to Detroit for the purpose of flipping it to a someone that hasn’t seen that clean of sheet metal in 20 years. A $1200 truck in CO is a $3000 truck in Michigan. The deal was I would sell it for him if I could swap all of my juice box goodies for the manual stuff plus an automatic would sell better in the Midwest anyway.