The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-31-2006, 12:27 AM   #1
DoobieBrother

Who's doing their own paint?

Ok. So I've inherited a 68 C10 and I'm in the beginning stages of planning how far I want to take restoration, what I want it to look like, how much money I'm willing to put into it, and the multitude of other questions I feel like I should answer before really getting after it.

Now one of the biggest areas of expenditure I see is paint and body. So, I'm wondering. If I were to buy some quality tools including a good quality HPLV gun and other stuff and spent some time practicing, what are the odds I could come out with a nice paint job? I have no experience with paint other than rattle can, but I'm thinking with some practice it might be possible.

So, anyone else been in my position? How did it work out for you?
DoobieBrother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 12:52 AM   #2
GREASEMONKEY72

Re: Who's doing their own paint?

the odds are good that with enough practice you could actually have a really decent paint job but then alot of factors come into play and i dont mean to scare you by saying that but its true you just have to make sure you prep the truck right, prep/mix the paint right, have the gun set right and dont spray to thick a coat, just remember many thin coats are a hell of alot better than one thick one and ofcourse many of the great ppl on the board will chime in and give more and im sure better advice than im giving but i hope i helped out a bit and i wish you much good luck with your truck

-steven

"Allison" '72 C/10 LWB 350SB/TH350 - DD

PITBULL IS NOT A CRIME
GREASEMONKEY72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 01:04 AM   #3
BarryB