The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-09-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
steveeg1961

Sloppy Automatic Shifter on Column - Help!

Help,

As a relative newbie, I'm working through the major glitches with my '72 C10. But one thing I haven't figured out is what is wrong with the sloppy column shifter (3-speed automatic, TH350 tranny). It worked hard before, but then I cleaned up the area where the shifter arm meets the steering column with WD40, and it works very smoothly now.

But in fact, its too loose now. It readily pops down into reverse from park, and doesn't stay in any one spot. There is nothing obvious to this untrained eye as to what is wrong. The linkage from the steering column to the tranny appears to be solid.

So what should I look for? Of course, pics are always helpful...
steveeg1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 11:14 PM   #2
Aarons72s

Re: Sloppy Automatic Shifter on Column - Help!