The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-01-2007, 12:40 PM   #1
kombreeze

Paysa/Redneck/Jerry Rigged WTF were they thinking Thread?

Ok I know in the past or most recently we've seen or com across some of the most outrageous modifications ever done. Some till this day may even boggle the mind and I was wondering what your experiences were? Here are 2 of mine that I'd like to share.
First one was on my 63 chevy truck and it came with an aftermarket steering wheel. I had been driving the truck already for about 3 months when (god was on my side) all of a sudden when pulling into my drive way my steering seem to have snapped. Pretty much all steering was gone so I had to slam on the brakes and avoid hitting the mail box at the end of the driveway. Honestly I thought I had broken the steering box or something. My first instinct was to check underneath the truck but it was the steering wheel. I pulled off the horn button and turns out the previous owner just tighten the nut as hard as he could and didn't use and adapter that's required. I was furious and who knows how many times I had taken my wife out to local car shows, work, afternoon sunday etc. I tell you god was on my side for letting it happen at home at 10 miles an hour. They guy I bought it from was a mechanic go figure.