The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-24-2007, 08:32 PM   #1
superman3405

body work advice

alright, time has come for the body work portion of my partial restore...I need some advice. I have no body work experience but have decided instead of paying some shop a small fortune to do it that I would invest that small fortune in TOOLS and do it myself..
i guess I need an air compressor and a sander. Is their any recomnedation on size of compressor that will work, good sanding gun? Sanding pads whattexture is best. overall my truck is in fair condition. Surface rust on the floor boards, needs new rocker panel and doors, Typical stuff. I am trying to stay away from bondo. Is their a good rust remover to use. When priming do I use the spray paint or do I need a spray gun. Can the truck sit outside while I do this??

1972 Chevy C-10 Short Bed (Ol'Blue)
350/350TH
2003 Chevy Silverado Z71
2007 Honda MiniVan...yup we should all be so lucky
superman3405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 09:18 PM   #2
Bus Ted Knuckle
Son of a gun

Re: body work advice

you need the biggest compressor that you can afford. Air sanders are some of the most air hogging tools made. Shoot for at least 15 CFM. You might get by with less, but you will wish you spent the extra $$$. Look for an older used NAME BRAND compressor (Champion, Quincy, Ingersoll-Rand, etc.), that is where you will find your best deal on a great compressor. Try to get a two stage compressor, they give you more bang for the buck. If you do buy new, stay away from oiless (they are noisey and short lived). And don't get a 3 phase compressor unless you have 3 phase and if you do have 3 phase, you know you have it