The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-21-2007, 01:20 AM   #1
edmonton72
Nothings as cool as my 72

First time engine strating

I'm going to be starting my engine up for the first time this weekend. What are some things I should since I've never done this before. The engine is a 350, .030 over, stock heads, HEI, RV cam and edelbrock 1406 crab. I've already set the initial timing to 8 degrees btdc. Is there anything I should do before I start it and once it is started. Whats the proper way to break the engine in too.
Thanx in advance.
Rolling chassis finally done and cab mounted. Now onto sanding, bondo and more sanding.
edmonton72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:17 AM   #2
Billla
Account Suspended

Re: First time engine strating

Looks like a cool engine

Biggest thing is making sure everything's WET - this includes pre-oiling the engine with an electric drill, and manually filling the carb with gas through the bowl vent. Double, triple check your timing - especially since you'll need to R&R the distributor to do the pre-oil.

If it's been on the stand for a while since final ass'y, I would strongly encourage you to put a bit of lube or oil on the front and rear main seals - just squirt some in there.

Lastly, I always add a pint of GM EOS to the oil for insurance.

Man, that's everything I can think of off the top of my head...but it's late/early
Billla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:23 AM   #3
cdowns

its always nice to have a fire extinguisher handy before you need it
71c-10 350/2004r/4:11 lowered3/4 longbed/dead by hurricane

MEANING OF DEATH::::: SOMEBODY ELSE GETS YOUR STUFF

DONT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU THINK

TAKE MY ADVISE;I DON'T USE IT ANYWAY