The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-07-2007, 08:13 PM   #1
JimV0804

Questions about my 72 Cheyenne...

Well - this is my first time here. Here goes.

I've got a 3/4 ton Chevy Cheyenne 4X4 - its been in the family for about 25 years. I've had it for awhile - but haven't taken the time or money to do much with it other than get it running.

Here are a few questions:

Can you explain the differences between.. Longhorns, Cheyennes, Supers, etc, etc?

I notice most pictures of 72 Chevy's have a different type of trim than I do - mine has the single chrome strip about 1/4 of the way up the body, where most other's I've seen have the two strips, with a different color in between. What gives? Is it the 'Cheyenne' part that dictates this trim?

Finally, why are there so many options when it comes to trim and interior, such as chrome, wood, etc, etc - How can I find out which package I have?

Any and all information would be greatly appreciated.

Also - any information on websites and magazines that you've used and have had luck with as far as body parts, trim, interior and so on.

Thanks again!

JimV0804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:21 PM   #2
ChevLoRay
Old Skool Club

Re: Questions about my 72 Cheyenne...

Welcome to the board!!

For a new guy, you ask a lot of questions.....

Look inside your glove box. There is a sheet (or should be) attached to the inside of the door. On it, you will find a lot of letter/number codes. If you can take a digital pic of them, and post it on here, we can decode it all for you.

But there's a wealth of info on this site and we'll be glad to help.

'96 GMC Sportside; 4.3/SLT - Daily driven....constantly needs washed.

'69 C-10 SWB; 350/TH400 - in limbo