The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-28-2008, 08:09 AM   #1
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Gasket removal

So the water pump on my Dakota went out.My wife "thinks" she'll be helpful and calls Sears.They quote her $250.00 for replacing the water pump,$125.00 for the thermostat,and (Get this,you're gonna love this)$37.50 for replacing the serpentine belt.Those are labor prices only,it's another $250 or so for the parts.I paid just under $100.00 for the parts and coolant and bought a new tube of sealant to boot.
Needless to say I had already looked up the parts on the net and removed the shroud and belt.I had the bolts loose and the hoses unclamped.
Anyway on to the question.I have one spot at the top right under the alt bracket that I can't seem to get the gasket scraped clean.I relized my cordless drill battery wasn't plugged in about this time.It is now and I can finish tommorow but I was wondering if anyone had used any of the gasket remover sprays and how they worked?Or if you have any other tips?
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"

Last edited by PanelDeland; 01-28-2008 at 08:11 AM.
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:12 AM   #2
jaros44sr

Re: Gasket removal

How about plain old paint stripper? J

All parts offered to help are free, unless otherwise noted

Dont try this stuff in my build thread, unless you have 55 years of mechanical OTJ training
SAFETY FIRST

AS usual, off topic

They say your mind goes second, can't remember the first

Jim