The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-06-2008, 01:42 AM   #1
oldblu65

Unhappy Truck won't start ?

I have been working on my truck for a couple years now . I replaced the 6 with a 283 . I've worked on it as time as money would allow . It 's been in the garage for a number of years , undriven , but I'd occasionally start it up to charge the battery and circulate some oil through it . I recently finished replacing all the brake components ( shoes , hardware , wheel cylinders , brake hoses , and drums ) . So I finally would get to start it and back it out to the driveway so the garage could get some much needed cleaning ! I get in and hit the key to start it and it starts up and runs very raggedly for about 10 seconds and quits ! It's always been " cold- natured " so I didn't think too much about . Well guys , It hasn't hit a lick since and that's been 4 days ago .I done everything I can think of with no success . Although the engine was used when I bought it , it was in very good shape . I put a new carb and a new distributor on it . It has the all new parts inside the distributor ( points , condenser ,rotor , cap and coil ) . I'm apparently not getting any spark and yes , it does have gas in it . . To top it off , my multi- tester quit working when I was running down power sources. Does this truck ( 1965 C10 ) have fusible links hidden somewhere ? What am I missing here ? It has me stumped ! I'm pretty sure it's a wiring problem , but , hey , what do I know ? Apparently not much .

Last edited by oldblu65; 05-06-2008 at 04:48 AM.
oldblu65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 01:54 AM   #2
salazar44
65 - Chevy C10

Re: Truck won't start ?

The timing is all correct?