The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-10-2008, 07:44 PM   #1
rockdogg

calling all garage mechanic's

as alot of you know through past contact, I am new to this classic truck arena. was curious if any of the oldies would be interested in throwing some info out there like what-fits-what?

we have only owned our vehicle a short time and have put together a wish list for this coming winter.

first and foremost would like to upgrade to a newer style frame with IFS, power steering and brakes.

been doing lots of research the past month, newer full size truck frames, S-10 frames, Camaro and other such sub-frames.

definately not afraid of some work, let the options fly and will keep everyone informed and updated as project proceeds w/photos.

Last edited by rockdogg; 06-10-2008 at 07:44 PM.
rockdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:28 PM   #2
pugs

Re: calling all garage mechanic's

i went with a nova clip on my 57, had it cut and tacked, in about 3 hours

Old 06-10-2008, 10:18 PM   #3
rockdogg

looks pretty straight forward and nice.

does anyone know if a mid-60's Cutlass frame would fit under a '56 PU? and how much work would there be to re-locate body mounts.

Last edited by rockdogg; 06-10-2008 at 10:29 PM.
Old 06-10-2008, 11:59 PM   #4
PDW HOTRODS

It could probably be made to work, but I would use one that already has disc brakes, it would save time and money.
PDW HOTRODS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 12:48 AM   #5
Kim57

My 57 has a 67 chevelle front clip on it. This is the best pic I have of it right now. If done properly it is a very clean install.
Kim
Attached Images

Kim57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 12:49 PM   #6
rockdogg