The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-03-2008, 01:25 PM   #1
merca

"oil can" dent

does anyone know how to fix what they call an oil can dent.i got my door to hot hot while welding now i have a wandering dent.any help would be great .thanks
merca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 02:31 PM   #2
Ds86C10
2WD 4 Life

Re: "oil can" dent

so you warped the panel? i'm not a pro body guy but get out the hammer and dolly...
1978 king cobra
Ds86C10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 03:04 PM   #3
merca

that's what i was going to do but if i push the dent out with my hand it dents in about 6 inches over. so where do i begin straighting it?
Old 11-03-2008, 03:09 PM   #4
d10s69c10
Built 4 Speed

heat warps are kinda tricky. a picture would help alot to find out where and how to attack this issue.

im thinkin its at your weld and you just need to cut it there and it should straighten out and reweld a little slower.

"To Be Old And Wise, First You Must Be Young And Stupid"
d10s69c10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 03:17 PM   #5
N2TRUX
Happy to be here

You need to shrink it. Heat the area and then cool it with a wet rag will cause it to shrink.

Articles-

"Jake" the 84 to 74 crewcab

"Elwood" the77_Remix

85 GMC Sierra "Scarlett"

"Refining Sierra"
N2TRUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 03:33 PM   #6
merca

i'll try and get a pic tonight. i welded the door where the window channel used to be,and the warp is down the door horizontal to the door handle line
Old 11-04-2008, 10:02 AM   #7
James McClure
One shot, one kill.