The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-22-2009, 05:22 PM   #1
b00sted

Best way to adjust hood? 53???

I was wondering what th etrick was to get a hood to sit flat .. My drivers side never lays down correctly and the entire hood push's towards the passenger side.. As you can see in this picture...
Attached Images

Old 03-22-2009, 07:17 PM   #2
mr48chev

Re: Best way to adjust hood? 53???

I'm no expert by a long shot but I have fought with these hoods for over 35 years.

First, is the cab mounted square on the frame and are all of the cab mounts in good shape? If the cab isn't sitting like it is supposed to the hood will never fit right.

Second, are the firewall to fender rods in place to keep the fenders squared up and is the front clip square on the truck?

These things are somewhat a progression in that the cab has to sit right on the frame before you can make anything else fit and the front clip has to be squared away before the hood will sit down right.

From the looks of things you need to loosen the bolts on the left hood hinge and slip it down a bit and back a bit. You have to reach up under the dash to reach at least one of the bolt heads.

Also if you don't have the stepped bolts in the hinges the thing will never fit right. That is the special bolts that have the step/shoulder that fit the holes in the hinges correctly. This also applies to the hood spring hinges.

It is all trial and error until you seem to error in the right direction and get the best fit you can.

I've found out the hard way that if you don't have the firewall to fender rods in place the fenders won't stay lined up the way you want and you tend to get way more squeaks than you want to deal with.