The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-10-2009, 07:52 PM   #1
motroo

tbi low fuel pressure

hello all, forum newbie here. looking for a thread about tbi fuel pressure problems. i seem to have low fuel pressure due to faulty wiring. need info on what wires go where. this is for 1989 (square body style) 1 ton chevy crew cab 4x4 with 5.7 tbi.
thanks
motroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:28 PM   #2
pig rig

Re: tbi low fuel pressure

I'd start with that $10 fuel filter and then if that dosnt fix it get a tbi rebuild kit and replace all the filters in it

http://hubgarage.s3.amazonaws.com/ph...ped_detail.JPG
pig rig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 09:18 PM   #3
motroo

thanks pig rig, but i've already been down that road. everything from the injectors down to the switching valve and all sensors have been checked/cleaned/replaced. i do infact have a low voltage problem. i have 12 volts going into my fuel pump relay and only 9 volts coming out. i have had 3 relays plugged in, so it's not the relay. i also found a hot wire down by my passenger side tank that was showing 9 volts as well. i don't think those pumps will put out on that low voltage. i just need a good wiring diagram, my chiltons and haynes manuals aren't showing what i actually have on my truck from what i can see.
Old 06-12-2009, 05:32 PM   #4
motroo

anybody got any thoughts or ideas?? or info??
Old 06-12-2009, 06:09 PM   #5
TwinTurbo

check the oil pressure switch next to the distributor.
TwinTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 08:00 PM   #6
rfmaster

Quote:
Originally Posted by motroo View Post
anybody got any thoughts or ideas?? or info??