The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-02-2009, 06:48 AM   #1
fazels

Location: Durban South Africa presently working in al ain abu dhabi united arab emirates
Red face carburetor advise

hi all
can anyone please advise as to what carb one can use with 72 chev pickup with 350 engine?. i would preferably use two barrel because of fuel economy.
2 what late model rear suspension with disc brakes can use on
72 chev c 10? the chev i have has coil springs.
. i would prefer easy bolt on suspension.
fazel
fazels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 07:06 AM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: carburettor advise

fazels,WELCOME!!!! to the BB.There are as many carbs choices as there are opinions.A 2BBL may give you some economy but mostly simce you cannot open the throttle up.An engine is an Air Pump and as such the more air you put in the more fuel you put in.4 bbl carbs tend to have smaller primaries so flow less air and use less fuel until the rear 2 bbl's are opened up.
The choice of carbs really depends on several factros.Total engine combo,trans, gear ratio,use of truck and area all may play a role in the proper choice.In order to get the best info you need to include some of this info in your post.
There are many knowledgeable people here who will be glad to discuss the choices and options with you to help you decide .
On the disc brake question,i can't help except to tell you some members have done a disc swap.I believe there is a write up on a couple of different ways to be found in the FAQ's.If you go to this link

http://www.67-72chevytrucks.com/vboa...splay.php?f=92