The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-04-2009, 04:12 PM   #1
rick0312

Firing up new motor/ need advice

Hey all,
I am almost at the point where I will be starting my new motor for the first time. Since this is my first time doing this I would appreciate any advice. I do have a few questions:

1) when filling the radiator and Block for initial startup, should I use distilled water only or should i mix a 50/50 solution of atifreeze and distilled water?

2) i wasn't planning on installing my drive shaft until after the initial breakin. i have a 3 speed manual trans and was wondering if it was ok to run through the gears while the drive shaft is not installed? Could this potentially damage the manual trans? (dumb questions I know, but this is my first motor install)

Thanks
Rick
Old 08-04-2009, 04:17 PM   #2
smoky02

Re: Firing up new motor/ need advice

Answer to the first question, I wouldn't use the pre-mixed antifreeze, but that's just my personal opinion. Otherwise I say the half and half is what I recommend. Now to the second question, I don't think it will hurt anything, but I have never tried to run a vehicle without the driveshaft. So I'm sure someone else will chime in with a better answer. Also, don't forget to prime the motor.

Looking for a 1972 Blazer to hopefully fill the hole in my heart.
smoky02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:25 PM   #3
rick0312

thanks smoky. will pre-prime motor.
Old 08-04-2009, 04:36 PM   #4
vectorit
What?

When I was building motors, I would only run plain water in the cooling system. Since if you have a leak in the oiling system, anti freeze damages bearings and other contact surfaces faster than just water.