The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-06-2009, 03:54 PM   #1
justagoodolboy
Under Construction

Newbie Here.Opinions,Comments,and Advice Please!!

Name:  chevy.jpg
Views: 129
Size:  31.3 KB

Name:  chevy_2.jpg
Views: 132
Size:  30.9 KB

Name:  chevy_3.jpg
Views: 138
Size:  31.9 KB

Name:  chevy_4.jpg
Views: 133
Size:  34.0 KBHello everyone.I've been digging around in this site for a few days now and I really like what I see.I'm thinking about buying a 1972 pickup and would really like your input.
This truck is owned by a friend of a friend (I know him but not real well) and I have only seen it in pictures.I called the owner and he pretty much told me what he knows about the truck.It has less than 1,000 miles on a rebuilt 350 that has been bored .30 over.The tranny and transfer case were rebuilt 2 years ago and it hasn't been driven much since then.The four wheel drive is out but everything works out to the hubs.He bought the truck to fix up for himself but before he got started he bought a 68 c10 short bed and is doing it instead.I can buy the truck for $2000 the way it sits or he can fix the four wheel drive and I would pay him whatever that takes on top of the $2000.So,here's what I need to know.
1.Is he asking to much?
2.What will it take to get the four wheel drive working?Should I let him do it or am I better off doing it myself?
3.As someone who has no experience with body work(I have a buddy who would help me some) is this a good truck for my first one?It doesn't look to bad but what do you think?