The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-16-2009, 05:01 PM   #1
Libertad
No Nonsense

Carb question urgent help!

Well I just made a run to the "Pick a part" and got a new dash bezel, wiper motor and other various parts. I was excited to get home and put them on but needed to stop at auto parts store for a couple things.

When I came out my truck would not start. seems the carb got flooded (smelled like gas) so I let it sit for a while and tried again nothing. Opened the hood and took off air cleaner and sure enough fuel was coming out of jets. This is a 4 bbl edelbrock and truck runs great, idles perfectly and gets up with no hesitation and now this.

I have basic carb knowledge but I need to be pointed in the right direction. My truck is sitting in a parking lot with parts to get put on.

1975 C10
Old 10-16-2009, 05:14 PM   #2
cableguy0

Re: Carb question urgent help!

common problem with the edelbrock is the fuel boiling out of the bowl and it just dumps into the motor. could also be trash in the needle and seat allowing fuel to keep coming into the carb and overfilling the bowl causing it to dump out. i bet by the time you get back to it if its cooled off some it will start and run like nothing happened. while your in the auto parts store grab a 1 inch carb spacer to get the carb up off the intake some and that usually takes care of the issue with the edelbrocks.
Owner of North Point Car Care in Dundalk Md. We specialize in custom exhaust on both modern and classic vehicles. We are a full service auto shop from classics to modern vehicles. Feel free to contact me with questions. I will give a 10% discount to any board member.
cableguy0 is offline   Reply With Quote