The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1969 - 1972 Blazers and Jimmys Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-03-2010, 09:10 PM   #1
d-nice

thinking of a motor upgrade?

I'm thinking of upgrading my 72 gmc Jimmy to a 350. I've seen motors on cl and other sites and they are advertised as 2 bolt or 4 bolt. What is this?? Is there a plug and play option for my project. Can I just match an engine to my existing trans?

As you can tell I'm a complete novice and was just hoping for some advice / direction.

Thank you.
d-nice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 10:37 PM   #2
Critter
Future TOTM Winner

Re: thinking of a motor upgrade?

2 bolt or 4 bolt refers the the number of bolts though each main bearing cap which holds the crank inside the block. Kinda hard to explain but here is a pic of a "2 bolt main" on top and a "4 bolt main" on bottom. Notice the 5 main caps that have either 2 or 4 bolts EACH.

You will probably hear many people talk negatively about 2 bolt mains when it comes to performance. Truth is unless you are over 500 HP a 2 bolt main shouldn't have any problems. What is happeing is a 4 bolt will have more clamping force to hold the crank in place. Once you start really hopping up an engine you put a lot of stress on those lower end components. Anyway, that is the basics but there is A LOT more to the discussion on the subject.

It might be a little too basic but there is good info here for someone learning engine basics.

As far as what engine will "plug and play" we need to know what you currently have, inline 6 cylinder, V8, auto tranny, standard, etc???

Check it out www.lsdyno.com
Critter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:20 AM   #3
d-nice