The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-30-2010, 12:55 AM   #1
spr85gmc

got 5 lugs now need brakes????

like the tittle says I am doing the 5 lug swap outta a 77 c10 on my 66 gmc everything is done (pics soon), but now I need to figure out the brakes. Can you guys point me in the right direction or into a thread which will help me figure this out..? I already got the booster bracket from capain fab and really dont want to spend tons of money being Im a college student on a budget. thanks Israel
spr85gmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 01:03 AM   #2
62gmc910

Re: got 5 lugs now need brakes????

I think there are some brake links in the FAC sticky in the top box
63 GMC 950 camperized school bus, (Gus the bus)
350 4speed 2 speed rear
64 GMC 950 "spare" bus 283? 4speed detroit locker
53 GMC 1ton dual wheel bus
78 GMC c25 short course off road race truck(son's truck)
355 th400 14 bolt (www.wheel2wheel.ca)
88 Peterbilt 379 longhood (hauls race truck)

Last edited by 62gmc910; 01-30-2010 at 01:04 AM. Reason: sp
62gmc910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 02:04 AM   #3
Captainfab
60-66 Nut

Can you elaborate a little more on just what part of 'the brakes' you need help with? The booster? the master?

There are booster recommendations in my sale thread for the booster brackets (link in my sig). You should be able to find these in a wrecking yard. For the master cylinder, just get the one for the '77 pickup. A rebuilt one from your local auto parts supply should be pretty reasonable. Use the proportioning valve from the '77 also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spr85gmc View Post