The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-04-2010, 09:40 AM   #1
1971ChevyTruck

Front coil spring help

I was going to start putting in my Dad's new coil springs. This is something I have never done before. Is there a thread on here with tips or maybe directions? Or does anyone have any tips?
1971ChevyTruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:45 AM   #2
hayhauler71

Re: Front coil spring help

Put truck on stands, remove tire, support lower control arm, remove shock, separate lower balljoint from steering knuckle and lower jack that is supporting control arm. No spring compressor needed for this job. Align spring in upper seat and lower control arm and raise up jack and install balljoint nut. The truck should be aligned after job is finished.

Last edited by hayhauler71; 03-04-2010 at 11:02 AM.
hayhauler71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:56 AM   #3
Hubscrub
Cruzin

i would like to add i always run a chain or strap in the spring to keep it from flying out just to be safe

Back to the Fifties 59 https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...NAeStpydfrcj_U

Proverbs 3:5,6

"Thanks to the Interstate Highway System, it is now possible to travel across the country from coast to coast without seeing anything."Charles Kuralt

In memory of our first baby daughter, daddy and mommy love you.
Danica Grace 6/26/14
Hubscrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 11:21 AM   #4
1971ChevyTruck

So besides for the shock, all I need to do is remove the tie rod end and the upper bolt to the spindle? I don't have to remove the calipers and everyhting else?
Old 03-04-2010, 12:16 PM   #5
epashhans

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayhauler71 View Post