The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Closed Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 07:36 PM   #1
herrmc

OBD ScanTool (I and II) Questions

I am working on a project truck with my Son, it is a 1994 Chevy 1/2 ton extended cab 4 x 4.

We are to a point we would like to have an OBD scantool, I am was raised on a farm, and have done mechanical work since I was very young... I am now an accomplished computer geek by trade.... also my educational background beyond H.S. is in electronics. It has been a while since I have actively worked on automobiles at this level (we just rebuilt the motor, replaced the transmission etc). About the last year models I was very familiar with was in the mid 80's .... And most of all of my mechanical experience is either with Chevy or on tractors....

My electronics background lends well to me understanding what they have done with the OBD stuff... and the sensors that has been added... I have never actually used an OBD scanner myself (a friend put one on my 2001 f250 diesel recently)...

I understand that for the current project truck, that an OBD I scantool is what is needed for the 1994 chevy .... My thoughts are, that If I am going to invest the money in a scantool I might as well get one that will be useful on my newer autos as well (2 - Chevy cobalts, 1 - GMC Safari, 1 - Ford F-250 Diesel 4 x 4, 1 - 2005 F-150)....

With my computer background... I have lots of computers laying around... and the necessary skillset to keep them running.... so a computer based scantool sounds enticing to me.

My son and I just made a trip to town (small town)... Napa, O'Reillys, Wal-Mart.

Wal-Mart ---> Had 1 Innovia model (basic mode, NO OBD I)... $99
Orielly ---> Had the full range of Innovia scanners $ 99 up to $340