The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-24-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
wiscburb

Question Mice in Suburban - help please!

Hi everybody, newbie here...

I recently purchased an 89 Suburban that sat on a farm over the winter. Drivetrain, body, etc. is all great, but there's a little problem -- mice took up residence in the truck while it sat on the farm. The problem of course is the smell. Strangely, I can't find much trace of them in the interior of the truck, which is basically pristine. Here are the clues I have discovered so far:
  • Mouse urine and a couple of droppings on some documents in the glove box; also, a urine stain on the rubber passenger floor mat
  • A mouse nest inside the tailgate, on the left end (discovered it when I pulled off the inner tailgate access panel)
  • A likely mouse nest (soft lumpy area) between the fabric and foam of the headliner, above the driver's head, with 2 holes in the headliner fabric nearby
  • A terrible mouse urine smell when I turn on the heater; also got a few fuzzy particles out of the heater the first time I ran it
  • Particles flew out of the rear A/C unit the first time I turned it on as well. When I went back there, it looked kind of like ground-up styrofoam
  • And finally - a dead, intact mouse in the driveway, under the rear driver's side door, which was NOT there before I parked the Suburban in my driveway.
The thing that's missing is any evidence that the mice ever spent time around the interior -- seats, floors, etc are all clean as far as I can tell. I tried using a black light to locate the urine and didn't find any.