The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-26-2010, 11:48 PM   #1
mixermike

strength question

are tubular upper and lower control arms that much stronger that stock stamped control arms ?
mixermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 05:41 AM   #2
dznucks

Re: strength question

that would be a tough question to answer without making a finite element model and analyzing the loads.

Based on my experience as an aircraft stress analyst i would say no, they are not any stronger than the stock arms. however, that is not to say that they are not strong enough to perform their job. the stock arms were designed with a very high factor of safety, making them total overkill for the usage that most of these trucks see these days, especially on a hot rod or street truck. these trucks were designed to have the hell beat out of them and the parts were designed to be manufactured quickly and cheaply. the tubular arms were designed to be light to reduce unsprung weight and to increase their performance.
dznucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:39 PM   #3
mixermike

thank you sir. i believe i will stay with what i have.
Old 03-27-2010, 04:20 PM   #4
dznucks

well...i am not saying that the originals are 100% better than the tubular arms. it depends on what your expected uses are for the truck and your budget. if its a purely street truck and you want better handling, the tubular a-arms would provide some benefit. but if you plan on using your truck as a truck it might not be worth the money.