The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-07-2010, 10:41 PM   #1
camjck89

starter??

hello everyone its been a long tome since ive been on here, been busy and finally picked up my 72 sb 350 and changed the plugs in it and cleaned up the outside. question tho the guy i bought it from said that the starter gets overheated from the ramhorn headers and it the engines warm it wont start. im very new to this truck and was wondering the right starter to get. that wont be the same problem. if the oem starter is the prob then ill just change it out with a replacement. he said theres a certain starter that fixes this problem but also said its expensive. then again this guy said i needed to junk the quadrajet. so help me out, thanks
camjck89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 10:57 AM   #2
BLK96

Re: starter??

Put a Ford solenoid in place of the junction on the pass. fender. Run jumper from large terminal to small on Chevy starter. Run large batt. cable to Ford solenoid then to starter. Original wire that went to start term. on Chevy starter (jumpered now) will go to "S" terminal on ford solenoid - may need to be lengthened. Attach remaining wires from original junction to batt side of Ford solenoid (large terminal). This mod should eliminate any heat soak no-start issues.
BLK96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 11:04 AM   #3
cdowns

small hitorque is the way i go// if the starter is already having the heat soak problem chances of remote solenoid fixin it are slim
71c-10 350/2004r/4:11 lowered3/4 longbed/dead by hurricane

MEANING OF DEATH::::: SOMEBODY ELSE GETS YOUR STUFF

DONT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU THINK

TAKE MY ADVISE;I DON'T USE IT ANYWAY
cdowns is offline   Reply With Quote