The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-10-2010, 12:14 AM   #1
reb42

frame swap

Hey guys,I'm new to this so be easy on me.Ihave a 65 chevy short wheelbase stepside.I want to put it on a later model frame.I have a 75 long wheelbase chevy,what all is involved and is this something a beginner might do.I'm a welder by trade so i think i could handle the cutting and welding,just need to where and how much.I know the centers are 115"can I move the rear end up to 115" and cut of the extra. and do I do anything to the front end. need all the help i can get.
reb42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 02:46 AM   #2
Captainfab
60-66 Nut

Re: frame swap

Welcome to the forum

You have two issues facing you with this swap. First is when mounting your '65 body onto the '75 frame, you will need to do one of two things. One is to build all new body mounts on the frame, which will amount to about a 3" body lift. This will look about like a stock K10 height wise. I've done this once......I didn't like it but the customer did. The other way is to channel the cab and box onto the frame.....this is a lot of work as well. The reason for this is the difference in the side profile of the two frames.

Shortening a long wheelbase to a short wheelbase isn't that difficult for an experienced welder as yourself. You just need to take 12" out of the frame between the cab mounts, and then cut 8" off of the back of the frame. I can email you some pics if it will help.