The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-22-2010, 11:44 PM   #1
dabruce15

3-Speed Column to Floor Conversion

Does anyone have pictures of the hole they cut for this? I bought an Indy 3-speed because my column is shot. I couldn't find an FAQ for this, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Praise the lowered!
dabruce15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Re: 3-Speed Column to Floor Conversion

Shifter placement will vary from truck to truck slighly.You may have to mount the shifter and figure out the hole from there.As far as your column shifter being shot....I doubt it.I have seen some that wouldn't work at all get a good cleaning and lube and work like a charm.In fact mine did it this spring.I just hadn't degreased and lubed it lately.The other thing is the bushings on the shifter arms need to be in good shape.There is a great write up in the FAQ's on column shifter rehab and adjustment.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 08:15 PM   #3
cdowns

it's amazin how moving parts love to b cleaned and lubed to work smoothly
71c-10 350/2004r/4:11 lowered3/4 longbed/dead by hurricane

MEANING OF DEATH::::: SOMEBODY ELSE GETS YOUR STUFF

DONT BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU THINK

TAKE MY ADVISE;I DON'T USE IT ANYWAY
cdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 10:07 PM   #4
sneakysnake
It's a catastrophic success.

Also there are two screws that can adjust the "slack" in the shifter.