The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-05-2010, 08:55 PM   #1
Bow Tie Scottie

O.K., I have a problem - not starting

Truck was running fine just the other day, now she wont turn over. It's getting fuel so what could it be? I hope it is something minor since I am not a professional mechanic! What I've found on internet so far range from timing issue such as a timing chain to choke thermostat. BTW, it has an electric choke and choke light stays on.

86 Chevy Scottsdale C20, SBC 350, TH400, 4.10 gear ratio
Bow Tie Scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:13 PM   #2
OleBlue79

Re: O.K., I have a problem - not starting

You mean the engine won't turn over or it turns over but will not start?
OleBlue79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:17 PM   #3
Bow Tie Scottie

It (engine) turns over; does not start. Voltage is at 13 amps.

Old 09-05-2010, 09:22 PM   #4
OleBlue79

Is it a carb or TBI?
Old 09-05-2010, 09:25 PM   #5
OleBlue79

Anyway, you need to see if it's electrical or a fuel problem. Check to see it's getting fire. If it is move on to fuel.
Old 09-05-2010, 09:26 PM   #6
Bow Tie Scottie

Stock Rochester Quadrajet that was rebuilt 2 years ago! Fuel pump and filter replaced at same time.

Old 09-05-2010, 09:30 PM   #7
OleBlue79

Pull a spark plug and place it close to a bolt on the engine and have someone roll the engine over and see if it is getting a spark.
You said it is getting fuel are you sure?
Old 09-05-2010, 09:41 PM   #8
OleBlue79

If it's not getting fire, the first thing to check is the power wire to your distributor. Make sure it's plugged in tight. I had a cat walking around under my hood once and pulled the wire loose.